206 NORTH MAIN STREET... (307) 674-8080

 

 

 

 

January Newsletter

 

 I hope you all had a great Holiday season. We certainly appreciate all of you who shopped with us for Christmas gifts, and through out the whole year. We're looking forward to seeing you in the store soon. There are many new titles being published in the coming year. Several old favorites are being made into movies. Books such as "Maze Runner: Death Cure", "15:17 to Paris", "The Red Sparrow", "A Wrinkle in Time", "Ready Player One", and one of my personal favorites, "The Guernsey Literary & Potato Peel Pie Society.

When you're faced with a long, dark winter evening what's better than sitting in front of the fire with a good book and a beverage. Stop by the store and find the perfect novel or fascinating adventure or history book to take home with you.


 

 

On January 3oth "White Chrysanthemum" will be published. I read the advanced reading copy of this book and loved it. I learned about a little known piece of World War II history, and about a culture that I know virtually nothing about. It was a terrific read!

 

." . . a sweeping historical debut for fans of Lilac Girls, Memoirs of a Geisha, and Kristin Hannah that brings to life the heartbreaking history of Korea through the deeply moving and redemptive story of two sisters separated by World War II" --

 

 

New Releases for January

 

 

Jan 2nd

Robicheaux by James Lee Burke

The Woman in the Window by A.J. Finn

Red Sky at Noon by Simon Montefiore

Batman: Nightwalker by Marie Lu


 

Jan 9th

The Last Liberal by Tucker Carlson

Operator Down by Brad Taylor

Fools & Mortals by Bernard Cornwell

Sunday Silence by Nicci French

The Wife Between Us by Greer Hendricks

The Immortalists by Chloe Benjamin

Tell Me More by Kelly Corrigan

 

Jan 16th

City of Endless Night by Preston & Child

The Girls in the Picture by Melanie Benjamin

Carnegie's Maid by Marie Benedict

The Weight of an Infinite Sky by Carrie La Seur

The Stowaway by Laurie Gwen Shapiro

 

Jan 22nd

All American Murder by James Patterson

 

Jan 23rd

The Wife by Alafair Burke

Rebel by Nick Nolte

 

Jan 29th

Media Madness by Howard Kurtz

 

Jan 30th

Dark In Death by J.D. Robb

Still Me by Jojo Moyes

The Grave's a Fine & Private Place by Alan Bradley

The Mark of Mokha by Dave Eggers

The Healing Self by Deepak Chopra

The White Chrysanthemum by Mary Lynn Bracht

Jackie, Janet & Lee by Randy Taraborrelli

 

 

 

 

 

Recipe Corner

We carry several different kinds of cookbooks, a little something for everyone. I try to feature a recipe from one of the books we have on hand each month.

Stop by the store and check out our selection.

 

Beef Brisket Soup

recipe taken from "The Home Cook" by Alex Guarnaschelli

 

Soup

3 tablespoons canola oil

3 1/2 to 4 pounds beef brisket, preferably all second cuts

Kosher Salt and freshly cracked black pepper

4 medium garlic cloves, grated

4 medium red onions, thinly sliced

6 sprigs fresh thyme, tied with string

1 cup dry red wine.

1 1/2 quarts beef stock

2 medium carrots, thinly sliced

6 scallions (green and white parts)., thinly sliced

Dumplings

4 tablespoons (1/2 stick) unsalted butter, softened

4 large eggs, lightly beaten

1 cup all-purpose flour

1 teaspoon kosher salt

1 teaspoon coarsely ground black pepper

1 cup freshly grated Parmigiano-Reggiano cheese

1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.

2. Cook the brisket: In a large ovenproof pot, heat the canola oil over medium heat. When the oil begins to smoke lightly, season both sides of the brisket pieces with salt and cracked black pepper. Use metal tongs to add the meat to the pot. Cook, undisturbed, on the first side until browned, 12 to 15 minutes. Turn the meat over onto the other side and cook until browned, another 12 to 15 minutes. Lower the heat and add the garlic, onions, thyme, and wine. Simmer until the wine evaporates, 10 to 12 minutes. Add 1 quart of the stock and 4 cups water and bring to a boil. Use a ladle to skim any impurities from the top. Transfer the pot to the oven and cook, uncovered, until the brisket is tender and the meat flakes easily with a fork, 1 3/4 to 2 hours.

3. Make the dumplings: In a medium bowl, whisk the butter until it is smooth and then whisk in the eggs. Use a wooden spoon to stir in the flour, salt, pepper, and 3/4 cup of the Parmigiano-Reggiano. Do not overwork the mixture.

4. Cook the dumplings and finish the soup: Remove the pot from the oven and put it on a burner over medium heat. There should be about 1 1/2 quarts liquid remaining. If there is less than that, add the remaining 2 cups beef stock and bring to a simmer. Discard the thyme. Remove the meat from the pot and set it aside on a platter to rest. Season the meat with salt. Drop teaspoonfuls of the dumpling dough into the simmering liquid. Stir in the carrots. Simmer gently until the dumplings and carrots are cooked, 6 to 8 minutes. Note: The dumplings float to the top when they are cooked. Then break the meat apart slightly and return it gently to the pot. Stir in the scallions and seasoning.

5. Serve the soup: Ladle the soup into individual bowls, sprinkle with the remaining 1/4 cup Parmigiano-Reggiano, and serve immediately.

 

 

 

SAVE

20%

Save 20% on one hardcover book

during January

 

Offer Expires 01/31/2018. Coupon must be presented in person; 1 coupon allowed per customer.